Fall 2018/19 Syllabus

Part 3 The Role of High Technology in Transportation

Week 7

Mon Nov 5

  • More on Modeling of Individual Person-trips in NJ and the Nation

Readings

Homework

Class Notes

Mon Nov 5 Precept

  • 7:30–9:00pm

Wed Nov 7 Lecture

  • Synthesis of Nationwide Individual PersonTrips: Discuss Final Term Projects

Homework

Class Notes

Week 8

Mon Nov 12

  • Analyzing the ride-sharing potential of aTaxis in NJ and the Nation

Readings

Class Notes

Mon Nov 12 Precept

Wed Nov 14

  • More on: Analyzing the ride-sharing potential of aTaxis in NJ and the Nation. Visitors (Dr. Stan Young & Dr. Venu Garikapati) from National Renewable Energy Lab to learn about what you are doing.

Readings

Class Notes

Week 9

Mon Nov 19

  • Toward Real-Time Intelligent Transportation Systems (ITS): Advanced Traveler Information Systems (ATIS): In-vehicle Satellite Navigation: From TravTek to Navigation Based Services; Global Positioning Systems (GPS)

Readings

Class Notes

Mon Nov 19 Review Session for Exam on Wednesday

  • Exam is Wednesday Nov 21 1:30–2:50pm 101 Sherrerd Hall
  • Exam Covers Weeks 1–10
  • Instructions

Wed Nov 21

Class Notes

Week 10

Mon Nov 26

Class Notes

Mon Nov 26 Precept

Wed Nov 28

Readings

Homework

Class Notes

Week 11

Mon Dec 3

  • NJ aTaxi Work Session: Empty aTaxi Management

Readings

Class Notes

Mon Dec 3 Precept 7:30pm Review for Exam

Wed Dec 5

Week 12

Mon Dec 10

  • NJ aTaxi Work Session: Empty aTaxi Management

Class Notes

Homework

Readings

Class Notes

Mon Dec 10 Precept

Wed Dec 12

  • Final Project Planning Session

Readings

Homework

Class Notes

Sat Jan 12 Reading Period

  • 10:00am–1:00pm Saturday, Jan 12, 2019. Final Workshop on Term Project; Lunch will be served. See the Schedule.

  • Maybe…@ 4:30 Friend 008 Special Seminar: Joshua Herbach ’08, Waymo Full Self-driving Car Team, “Update on Waymo’s Full Self-Driving Cars”